Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with online courses, Zoom and more.



Sara Sawyer receives Omenn Prize

Congratulations to Dr. Sara Sawyer and Dr. Ann Demogines, who received the Omenn Prize for the Best Evolution Paper of 2013. The prize is for their paper appearing in PLOS Biology entitled "Dual Host-Virus Arms Races Shape an Essential Housekeeping Protein.". This study was led by Dr. Ann Demogines, a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Sawyer's laboratory and was also featured in the "Editors Choice" section of Science. The award comes with a prize of $5,000 for Dr. Demogines. 


This Week in Microbiology Podcast Whiteley Lab

This Week in Microbiology released a podcast covering the benefits of virulence studied in the Whiteley Lab.

Four contributors review how microbial virulence can be increased as a consequence of community surveillance and adaptation to macrophages.

To listen to the podcast follow click here.

Andy Ellington, Stephen Trent and Marvin Whiteley Elected to the American Academy of Microbiology

Congratulations to Dr. Andy Ellington, Dr. Stephen Trent and Dr. Marvin Whiteley for being elected Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology  http://academy.asm.org/index.php/fellows/68-navigation/fellows/404-new-fellows. As described by the American Society for Microbiology, "Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

Three MBS Faculty Members Awarded Tenure

Congratulations to Dr. Johann Eberhart, Dr. Adrian Keatinge-Clay and Dr. Sara Sawyer, who have been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure, effective September 2014

Register For The First MBS Departmental Retreat

Register For The First MBS Departmental Retreat

b2ap3_thumbnail_Retreat-2014.pngWe are pleased to announce that our first MBS Departmental Retreat will be held on April 19th, 2014 at the beautiful Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center here in Austin. We are looking forward to a day of talks and posters from our MBS community and a special keynote presentation by Dr. Jeff Dangl from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Please fill out and return the attached registration form if you are planning to attend. MBS__Retreat_Registration.docx

Best wishes,

Dr. Bryan Davies and Dr. David Stein

Andy Ellington Receives President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Andy Ellington Receives President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Congratulations to Dr. Andy Ellington, who received the President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award. The President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award recognizes innovative, excellent teaching in undergraduate education in the core curriculum.

Sara Sawyer Named Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigator

Sara Sawyer Named Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigator

b2ap3_thumbnail_Headshot_Sawyer-350.jpgDr. Sara Sawyer was the recipient of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund's 2013 Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease.  The five-year $500,000 award provides support to assistant professor-level researchers conducting innovative investigation in infectious disease. Congratulations, Sara!


Photo Gallery

MBS-graduation-flickrMBS Graduates 2014


15 Apr 2020@ 08:00AM - 05:00PM
MBS+LCID: Jason McLellan (Virtual)
22 Apr 2020@ 04:00PM - 05:00PM
MBS Seminar - Rasika Harshey (Virtual)
01 May 2020@ 12:30PM - 01:30PM
MBS Faculty Meeting (Virtual)
04 May 2020@ 12:00PM - 01:00PM
MBS Advisory Council Meeting (Virtual)
06 May 2020@ 04:00PM - 05:00PM
MBS Seminar: Cancelled