Zhang Named Professor of the Year

April 17, 2017 • by college of natural sciences staff writer

Students have selected Jessie Zhang, an associate professor of molecular biosciences, as The University of Texas at Austin's Professor of the Year. 

President Greg Fenves, professor Jessie Zhang and students hold up the hook'em symbol in front of the UT Tower

Each year, the Senate of College Councils selects one professor university-wide to be honored as Professor of the Year, identifying an individual who "demonstrates outstanding teaching ability and a commitment to their students and the university."

On Thursday, April 13, President Greg Fenves and Chancellor William McRaven joined student government leaders in surprising Zhang with the honor.

Two other awards were given to instructors the same day, including another award in the College of Natural Sciences. 

Ashkan Jahangiri, a neuroscience senior, received the award for Teaching Assistant of the Year. Lori Holleran, a professor in the school of social work, received the second annual Edith Clarke Woman of Excellence Award.