Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Updates

Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with Zoom and more.

 

image001 1

“Emerging Approaches in Plant Biology”

August 28th, 2020 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.| Zoom

MBS Symposium

Schedule

9:00 am CDT (10:00 am EDT; 7:00am PDT) Opening Remarks, Daniel Leahy, Chair, MBS

Session 1: New Frontiers in Plant Hormones

9:15-9:50 am: Yuichiro Tsuchiya- "Manipulating strigolactone receptors in parasitic plant Striga hermonthica with small molecules"

9:55-10:30 am: Lucia Strader- "Fantastic ARFs and where to find them: regulation of auxin response"

10:35-11:10 am: Hong Qiao- "Chromatin & transcription regulation in plant hormone and stress responses"

11:15-11:30 am: Short break (bathroom break, coffee break)

Keynote Session

11:30-12:20 pm: Sean Cutler- "New tools for dynamically maximixing crop productivity"

12:20-12:55 pm: Lunch break

Session 2: RNA World

12:55-1:30 pm: Brian Gregory- "Messenger RNA 5' NAD+ capping is a dynamic regulatory epitranscriptome mark that is required for proper response to abscisic acid" 

1:35-2:10 pm: Hailing Jin- "Cross-Kingdom RNAi between plants and fungal pathogens" 

2:15-2:40 pm: Asking career questions to Speakers/Break 2x moderators: TBA

Session 3: Emerging Protein Complex & Signaling

2:40-3:15 pm: Libo Shan- "Plant cell surface immune receptor signaling" 

3:20-3:45 pm: Edward Marcotte- "Evolution and the proteome: mapping the biochemical machinery shared across plants and beyond"

3:50 pm: Closing Remarks, Enamul Huq & Keiko Torii

4:00 pm: Depature